Work Overseas

I am currently working as a Project Officer (Recruitment Manager) – since May 2007 – for an overseas placement agency.  I enjoy my work as gives me a little sense of being able to help others find a job.  However, most of the accounts I am handling are Saudi-bound, thus the pay scale is not really that great (read: bad).  Also, the Dollar depreciation further aggravates their salaries.

Anyhow, I am handling other accounts on ‘exotic’ locations, such as Afghanistan and some African countries, where workers are fairly compensated.

Last 13 Dec 2007 morning, our president (ISD) circulated a bulletin to us project officers to check our database for an executive secretary for Saudi Aramco.  Regretably I was not able to attend (or even respond) to this bulletin because I am busy with other things and as I have no immediate candidates on my list.

It turned out that our president is a very close friend of the representative from Aramco, thus he has some privilege information on the rates and terms.

In the afternoon, I was called by the president to discuss the other perks for this position.  Jokingly, I told him if that is the case then count me in as an applicant while smiling widely.  To my surprise, I can tell from his voice that he is not joking, he said if I like to – then submit my resume to them, on a very positive tone. 

Ooopps… I have no plans yet to go back to Saudi Arabia, but if the rate and terms are promising (and with such company as Aramco), then I want to try.

In the evening they confirm my schedule for interview for the following day – with all the moral support and backings of ISD President.  Furthermore, during the interview I was told by the interviewer that he is even considering me for a position other than “executive secretary”, which he assured that it would be definitely better.  I wonder what that is.

It turned out that the company is actually KAUST, a project to establish a world-class university in Saudi Arabia with a staggering US$12 Billion endownment from the Saudi King.  Aramco is being tasked to organize and implement this project.

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 19 December 2007, in Prologue and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts Please...

