Busy Day… “Fit at Last”

Last night I am with the ‘big bosses’, we stayed at a condo unit.  We played a card game called ‘tong-its’ (I lose about P400). They ordered food yet I am limited to fish and brocolli. I arrived home past 12 midnight.

Early morning I went to SM Lazo medical clinic (I missed one station of the LRT, I am supposed to disembark at Pedro Gil, but for some reason I got occupied with someone, only to find out the train is moving towards the next station – Quirino.  I walked back.)

I arrived at the clinic before 8:00 AM, only to find out that the staffs are celerating a mass, and will start office at 9:00 AM. 

In order not to waste time, I decided to renew my NBI Clearance, I thought I was lost when the cab driver did not drop me at the area I am familiar the establishment is located along Taft Avenue.  But was surprised when he pointed the old building at Carriedo in Santa Cruz Manila.  Now here is the bad part, each and every applicants are required to pay 20 Pesos to enter the premises in exchange for a ‘stub’. (Hmm… imagine if there are  a modest 1,000 applicants a day in that area, NBI can collect 20,000 Pesos per day for this stub).

I decided not to pursue my plans there at it is so crowded, I estimated myself to finish the process till after noon.  There is a long queue for the payment of fees, and another long queue for the verification/mugshot.

I went back to the clinic instead, which I conveniently did thru the LRT at Carriedo Station.  I should have done that going there if only I knew the new renewal center is located there. Anyhow, this time I did not miss the correct station.

Back at the clinic, I found that my card has a mark, “For Liver UltraSound” I ask the receptionist handling IPAMS account if she is employed with IPAMS or with SM Lazo.  She responded that she is connected with the clinic.  I explained to her my case, that I had a second opinion with my blood works and the findings are totally different.  Obviously she is not in position to discuss this matter with me so she directed me to the doctor at the 2nd floor.

At the waiting area, I am overhearing similar predicaments from patients with different findings from SM Lazo and with other clinics they consulted.  When I was called by the doctor, I showed her the lab result from other clinic and the PRC License of my wife as a Dietitian/Nutritionist while explaining that I underwent a low cholesterol diet program and weight management exercise. I further explained to her my position and my inquiry on the big discrepancy between their lab’s findings versus from other clinic.  Our discussions is going in circle, and I can sense the lady doctor is beginning to get annoyed so she instead asked me to talk to the medical director at the 5th floor.  I went to see their director but unfortunately was on-leave, thus I was entertained by his deputy (again at the waiting area, I can hear laments from patients of having different clinical findings).  For another time, I explained and raised my points.  It is but usual that I hear the same line of defense from the earlier doctor.  In the end I agreed to have myself be subjected to a liver ultrasound (and payment thereof of P400).  My weight was re-measured and found I am losing a couple of kilos.

I went to the 3rd floor for ultrasound, where the doctor in-charge had diagnosed me to have “mild fatty liver” yet everything else is normal.  I was instructed thereafter to consult again the doctor at the 2nd floor.  Perhaps the first doctor I met do not intend to see me again, a different doctor was assigned to me (this time male).  I presented him the result of the ultrasound and the findings from other clinic.  This time the doctor’s tone is a bit positively different.  After long discussion it became evident that I am fit-to-work.  I even asked him if I need to have medications, he simply mentioned that it is optional, but recommended to continue my diet and exercise.

Fit at last!

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 1 February 2008, in Prologue and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Same with me…i will never ever to come back with this clinic and will never ever recommend this clinic to my friends,colleagues and family who will undergo medical exam for abroad.

  2. I went here last july 28,2016 ..I went to the 3rd floor and there I was assisted by the lay to take my Height and Weight measurements. After that I was asked to be checked for my eyes..the ECG ..then went to the Physical Exam with this Old woman whom I think is a retired Public school teacher heheh. Then sitting and waiting from a small room, oh by the way when I entered her cubicle she said ” hurry up it’s almost lunch time ” as if It was my mistake to enter her place.

    Anyways , while sitting before she could come closer to me within 5 secs. she said right away said and diagnosed me ” your thyroid looks big you need to take ultrasound for Thyroid ” ?!! whaatt!!?? Let I hurriedly got out from her cubicle. I asked the one who did my blood pressure and I smell he is Gay ! He wrote on my card my next destination would be #dental #xRay and #Psycho. But then while he was holding my card he.called the woman who did my ECG and behind my back I heard him.murmured something to the woman and I was asked again to go inside to have my 2nd ECG. I asked that woman why ?? She replied but can’t look into my eyes ” we found out that u are stressed ” ?!! Then took my lunch , came back for dental and x-ray to end my day.

    Waiting come Aug 1, 2016 the result by have informed my agency here what have transpired in my Medical exams.

    Believe me if they will be asking me for ultrasound and they insist I will ask #Imbestigador to investigate what they are doing to OFW’s to this a #scam !!! I have read comments when I got home bec. I was dismayed !!!

  3. By the way this is not .my 1st time go..go out as an OFW this would be.my 6th time.and .my 3rd time hopefully to Doha again .

    In addition I know these doctors AT SM LAZO ARE NOT REALLY BOARD PASSERS. CAN U JUST IMAGINE THEIR CAREERS .DPING AND CHECKING PEOPLE FOR PHYSICAL EXAM. THE DENTIST LAST JULY 28, 2016 AROIND 1.15PM SHE JUST LET ME OPENED MY MOUTH USING A FLASHLIGHT JIST ASKED ME IF I FEEL ANY PAIN .??? AND that’s IT WHAT A CHECK UP.

    FURTHER MORE LAST AUG 2012 FROM ANOTHER AGENCY ANOTHER CLINIC..AFTER ECG ANOTHER NOT SO DOCTOR LOOKING SAID THE RESULT NEEDS TO BE READ SO FROM MAKATI I WENT TO TAFT. MANILA JUST INFRONT OF PGH I PAID P500,TO KNOW THE FINDINGS OF MY ECG. THE RESULT WAS OK NEGATIVE FROM WHATSOEVER !!!!

    Just waiting for a good result I hope not the #lungScar I do not want to be a victim of them !

  4. Hey! dafuq.. sorry. yesterday i was onced told by the lady doctor that my sgpt is high and also my cholesterol and they told me to under-went an ultrasound for my liver. what should i do to make this things all right? please help i really wanna pass this!! thanks

Your Thoughts Please...

