Daily Archives: 31 August 2009

Manager’s Last Day

Today is the last day of work for the business manager I am directly reporting to — he is a Saudi Aramco employee assigned at the University for the Transition Management Department (TMD).

Supposedly, with my direct manager out, I should have been transferred to Thuwal with the Facilities/Logistics Department. However, (with no official instruction) I am being retained at our interim office building here in Jeddah, as it seems I was handed over to another division which is Logistics Planning & Control Division also under TMD. (I got involved with this division when I inherited the work assignment of the Cost Engineer that was terminated due to ‘poor performance’. While there is no official documentation for me to adding the job of the cost engineer, apparently TMD has no plan to replace the cost engineer and that the work assignment has been added to my responsibilities permanently since April).

So here I am still at our interim office building at Jeddah, while my colleagues are already in Thuwal.