Sony Ericsson Satio Tricks and Treats

I want to make this post as informative as possible, though this early I would like to mention that I am not satisfied with the Sony Ericsson Satio, which will be the subject of this blog entry.

The phone’s audio quality particularly on video recording is terrible, so soft and too low.

I bought my unit last September 13 for SR 1,999 (US$533) at “Sony World”, Jeddah International Market. Prior to this, I scoured major malls as well as smaller stalls within Jeddah for a black color of this phone model, but to no avail they do not have black color on stock — then I found one at Sony World. I took great efforts just to have this unit, including internet research (though unfortunately I missed the important information about its audio quality on video recording).

What enticed me about Satio is that: first it has a 12 mega pixels camera (it is time to replace my 3.2 mega pixels Sony Cybershot); second there is a cover on its lens (unlike X10 and Vivaz the lens is exposed and I am not comfortable with it); and third it is a phone :) (to which I can hear my old Sony Ericsson S302 shouting for retirement).

First Shot

I admit, the quality of the captured photo is really good. The auto focus is great. It is however my biggest disappointment that the sound quality of the video recording is terrible and unacceptable. To which I regularly record a video and post on YouTube or Facebook.

Below is the sample video with emphasis on the audio level as recorded from my Sony Ericsson Satio:

Because the audio recording is poor and too soft, I needed to increase the audio level by adding layers upon layers of the same audio during the processing of the video. Though there are setbacks, an accidental slip on the audio will create an echo effect, not to mention that this technique is very time consuming and not flexible in case I want to make some changes.

Six Layers of Audio (all of which increased to 200%)

Below is the finished product, with enhanced audio (6 layers * 200% = 1,200% audio boost), just to make it worthy to be uploaded on YouTube and get viewed:

Let me also mention that I had already upgraded to the latest firmware of my Satio, hoping it would improve the audio quality of the recording, but I am frustrated the upgrading did not resolve the issue. Worse, an official announcement was released by Sony Ericsson that they have no plans anymore to release firmware upgrades for this unit. And yes, I am not the only one complaining about the poor state of audio on the video recording of Satio.

What I am hoping is to discover a software (symbian and within the phone) that can improve the audio quality on video recording of my Sony Ericsson Satio. When that happens, I am one happy and contented man :)

Happy Halloween. Tricks and Treats.

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 31 October 2010, in Techie Stuffs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I think the admin of this website is actually working hard for his web page, for
    the reason that here every material is quality based material.

  2. Generally, refinancing is better for you to have a loan without proving your ability to
    repay. debt help loans counseling is an excellent strategy to improve your overall credit score – settlement may not impact the credit score suppliers against non-payment although also helping the buyer
    to break the” debt habit. For all your list of small debts you can turn all of these tips to select the settlement firm, which in this case in the event of the borrower.

  3. Hi there! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you
    might have right here on this post. I will be coming back
    to your weblog for extra soon.

  4. Hey! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for
    the nice information you have got right here on this post.
    I will probably be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  5. Hiya! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice info you have right here on this post.

    I will probably be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  6. And these four apps are just scratching the surface of what’s possible once you’ve jailbroken your
    i – Phone. Jailbreak for i – Phone means you are allowed to install 3rd party applications on
    your i – Phone. You can install multiple i – Phone apps, search for available networks and adhere to the one that you
    want and you can ultimately enjoy all the features with no restrictions.

  7. Howdy! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you¡¦ve
    here on this post. I will likely be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  8. Can I just say what a comfort to discover someone who really understands what they’re discussing on the web. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people should check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you are not more popular since you certainly have the gift.

  9. What’s up, of course this paragraph is really good and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  10. It is so rare to hear about any drug offenses within the car racing sport but too
    much of this and congress just might get involved.
    He forwarded the email to her and she just broke down.
    Kyle Busch has been the top racer in this race recently, winning two of the last three
    Fed – Ex 400’s.

  11. hello!,I really like your writing so much! share
    we keep in touch more about your post on AOL?
    I require an expert in this area to solve my problem.

    Maybe that’s you! Having a look ahead to peer you.

Your Thoughts Please...

