Waiting for Schengen Visa Approval

This is an update from my post last week regarding my Schengen Visa application. Yesterday I went to the General Consulate of Italy in Jeddah for an interview.

The Consulate General of Italy in Jeddah

I was there at around 12 noon but stayed in the car until 12:30 then tried to enter the premises. However, I was not allowed to enter until 1:00PM, thus I went back to the car and waited for the time. As usual it is a hot and humid day in Saudi Arabia. I have to keep myself cool and fresh inside the car (with the AC on). Then when the clock hits 1:00PM I sprayed another batch of perfume and went to the gate of the consulate, where I was asked to deposit my cellphone. I was told to proceed to the office.

After a while, I was asked to enter a room for the the interview.

Before the end of the interview, he jokingly mentioned to his colleague that I will migrate to Italy. I countered (also half joking on a light mood) that it is not possible as I need my kids to continue with their schooling.

His colleague, who seems to be aware about the nature of business of my employer, nodded as if confirming that I have an excellent employer and benefits that I can not simply let go.

In the end, the interviewer reiterated that it is difficult to obtain a Schengen Visa from Italian Embassy/Consulate (at least for someone having a Filipino nationality like me) but he motioned tha the will discuss my application with the Consul General and will help me obtain the visa.

I was asked to call them on Monday (17 October) to find out the result.

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 12 October 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts Please...

