Vacation 2012 (7 months to go)

My fingers are itching to blog while I can hear myself encouraging me to add that lonely blog posted on the month of December. So I think I have to scratch the itch and satisfy myself by writing something. Not that I have nothing to write about for the past couple of weeks, it is just that if I am to blog what transpired the past weeks, this site will have full of rants. I was on ‘full metal gear’ the past couple of weeks, but I prefer not to post my rants here, especially that these are about work.

Anyhow, last week, I had just booked our air ticket for our 2012 vacation – Yey!, which is about seven months from now. I have to do it this early while the ticket price is still on the floor. I was able to book a ticket via Saudi Arabian Airlines direct flight (non stop) with travel time of less than 11 hours to Manila and 10 hours and 10 minutes coming back to Jeddah.

I was able to secure our tickets for only SR 7,050 (2 adults and 2 kids, including tax) — which I think is really a bargain (perhaps we can afford to purchase an extra set of tickets for another vacation during Eid Holidays next year, hmm… think think, wink wink).

Saudia Airlines

SR 7,050 total airfare including tax (2 adults, 2 kids)

I wonder though why other airlines, such as Cathay Pacific Airways, has such a ridiculous price posted at their website. What is the purpose of online booking and planning for vacation if the ticket price is this high (though it is apparent travel agents can offer lower rates). I did a mock booking and gave us SR 32,192 (2 adults and 2 kids, including tax).

Cathay Pacific

SR 32,192 total airfare including tax (2 adults, 2 kids)

Disclaimer: I am not singling out Cathay Pacific Airways, as other airlines offer similar higher rates compared to Saudia Airlines (which of course is the national carrier of Saudi Arabia). Rates were posted here for comparison and reference purposes only. The dates indicated on the mock bookings are not our actual travel dates, ha ha.

The catch however with Saudia Airlines is that I have to pay our tickets this early and we can not change our schedule without upgrading to a higher class (to which I believe is true with other airlines offering special rates nonetheless).

Vacation 2012, seven months to go and counting…

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 17 December 2011, in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts Please...

