2012 A.D.

Happy New Year everyone! This is my first post for the year 2012. While I am hoping I can post more often for this year, statistically speaking I can only post only about 2 to 3 blogs per month. I am not sure how this year could be different (in terms of blog posts that is). Anyhow this is a good start. First blog post on the first day of the first month of the year.

2012 is “Year of the Dragon”, though technically it would start still on the last week of this month (Chinese New Year), this year is a bit ‘special’ to me as I have had completed 3 cycles of the Chinese zodiac already (and this post actually gives my age, ha ha).

Not that I am a fanatic on Chinese zodiac nor that I believe in feng shui and stuffs like that, but it is a good point of reference though — on how time flies. So fast that I can not even recall much of what I did when I was 12, yet I know I am too young and too naive to know things better. Perhaps the fondest memory I have is that I completed my primary schooling (graduated as salutatorian of my batch of about 250 students) and had the transition entering high school.

Fast forward to another cycle, when I was 24, I am already part of the workforce here in Saudi Arabia as an Overseas Filipino Worker, to which interestingly later before the year ends I got married, which is another transition for me from singleness to ‘being taken’.

Now on the third cycle and on this year of the dragon, I wonder what transition (if any) is in store for me. I hope it will not have anything to do with the Mayan calendar with those apocalyptic prophecies, lol.

2012 AD

Happy New Year! 2012 AD

The ‘toys’ shown above are currently displayed at my office. I bought the dragon from Florence while the Templar Knight from Venice on November – later to find out just this week that 2012 is year of the dragon.

He who fights too long against dragons becomes a dragon himself; and if you gaze too long into the abyss, the abyss will gaze into you. – Friedrich Nietzsche, On the Genealogy of Morals

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 1 January 2012, in Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you and happy new year to you too!

Your Thoughts Please...

