Finally Ubuntu

It took me quite a while to decide what operating system to install with my Acer Aspire X1930. It is a relatively cost-efficient machine that I decided to purchase last Friday. The box contains only the desktop, a mouse and a keyboard (no monitor included nor a Microsoft Windows operating system). I got it at eXtra for only SR1,149.

The specification is not highend: Intel Pentium CPU G630 at 2.7GHz (core duo), 2GiB DDR3, and 250GB of hard disk capacity, but compared to my other desktop PC (Compaq Presario SR10302) that I had been using since 2006, this one is a better rig.

The machine has only FreeDOS installed, which eventually reduced the cost of the unit by few hundred Saudi Riyals. I wanted it that way anyway as even if there is a Windows operating system installed, it would only be a ‘Starter’ or ‘Home Edition’ that I will not be satisfied. Same goes with Microsoft Office suite, it will only be an evaluation version that would require code purchase to unlock full version.

Of course I have no intention to stare on a black screen with with texts performing DOS commands, choosing an operating system to install though is a challenge. I was actually choosing between Windows 8, Windows 7, and for sentimental reasons – Windows XP.

After much contemplation and soul searching (ha ha), I decided to install a Linux operating system (Ubuntu). I could have partitioned the hard drive to accommodate both Ubuntu and a Windows (to which up to now I am still undecided which Windows version), but what the heck I decided to just have the Ubuntu. As of now, I still do not have regrets, but thinks I am really enjoying my new OS.

Finally Ubuntu

Slept past 2:00 AM last night, I mean today morning (or whatever), finally deciding to have a Linux operating system installed.

I think I am really getting alienated with Microsoft. Looking back, it had been a long way since my serious relationships with Windows 3.1, Windows 95, Windows 98, Millenium, XP and Vista, until I switched to Mac OSX in 2009. (Though technically, I still have Windows XP on the Compaq Presario metioned on earlier on this post, as well as I still have Windows 7 installed on my Macbook Pro but I do not want it to count as I am not using it, or to be more accurate I am using Windows 7 only when I need to access certain programs on SAP or certain features on SharePoint and Outlook).

Anyways, last night I felt as if I am wearing a ‘geek hat’ again doing all those DOS commands that I had long forgotten, in addition to learning new lines of codes and commands for Linux. And yeah, I slept past 2:00AM last night, I mean today morning (or whatever), finally deciding to have a Linux operating system installed.

And so today I finally entered a relationship with Ubuntu (12.04), with all the open source programs and applications that I can freely install, as such I do not need to wear my ‘pirate hat’ (I mean install “evaluation versions” of applications that I usually tend to forget to uninstall).

___
Disclosure: I have discovered an old photo of my past fling with Ubuntu (10.10), captured more than two years ago, but I swear I was still immature then and felt I was not still ready.

Ubuntu 10.10

Ubuntu 10.10 in 2010 blossomed into a sleek and stunning Ubuntu 12.04 in 2012

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 25 November 2012, in Techie Stuffs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts Please...

