Happy Dog

Starting the first week of 2013, I decided to do some biking. The initial intent is to burn those calories from pasta, sweets and meat accumulated during Christmas and New Year celebrations, though I feel it is simply necessary to have a cardio-vascular workout and just about time to lose some weight.

I find this a opportunity too to listen back to my mp3 collection.

I find this an opportunity too to listen back to my mp3 collection.

After selecting among several (free and paid) mobile apps to accompany me during biking, I finally settled with MapMyRide. Even with it’s free version, I am satisfied with its rich features and reporting capability (including the cool fly-by video of the route).

Neat calendar to record my activity.  Though one week without biking activity (except to and from work).

Neat calendar to record my activity.

I have one week though, without biking activity (except to and from work), due to a cold wave which even brought freak snow in Saudi Arabia (and no I am not inventing an amazing story, yes it snowed in Saudi Arabia though not exactly on my location). To which I think my aching joints and muscles are thankful for the break (*cough*excuses*cough*).

“Happy Dog” is the name I gave to the route (which is about 13.45 kms) I frequent for the past few weeks, for the purpose of measuring my progress to which I have not reached below 30 minutes time for this route. I am thinking however to try new routes.

The 'happy dog' route.

My 13.45 km ‘happy dog’ route. I am thinking to increase my distance or do two laps, but when I am ready.

I promise to keep my interest in biking and continue with my workout, I just do not know how it would feel riding a bike during the hot summer season here in the desert.

I think I have to end this blog and saddle up for my workout for the day.

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 29 January 2013, in Me, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts Please...

