37 Places

This is the mountain I used see everyday, along with the rice fields  (which is also my childhood playground) that I witness change its color from lush green to cheerful yellow to bountiful gold, at the back of our house since birth until I was about 23 years old in Teresa Rizal.

This is the mountain I used see everyday, along with the rice fields (which is also my childhood playground) that changes color from green to gold depending on the season, at the back of our house since birth until I am about 23 years old in Teresa Rizal.

I had just turned 11 when I first came to Baguio City as a delegate to the 8th National Jamboree.  We stayed there for a week and explored the city extensively.  The second time I'ved been to Baguio is only after I graduated from the university and when I was with my first job at a bank.  It is quite spontaneous (if not totally weird).  It was Friday (a weekend) I simply decided to go to the bus terminal and bought a ticket to Baguio.  I slept all night at the bus and arrived in Baguio early in the morning and explored the city.  It feels so nice getting back there, as if I still know the places from childhood memories.  Late afternoon, I decided to go back to Manila with a handful of fresh veggies with me.

I had just turned 11 when I first came to Baguio City as a delegate to the 8th National Jamboree. We stayed there for a week and explored the city extensively. The second time I’ved been to Baguio is only after I graduated from the university and when I was with my first job at a bank. It is quite spontaneous (if not weird). It was Friday (a weekend) I simply decided to go to the bus terminal and bought a ticket to Baguio. I slept all night at the bus and arrived in Baguio early in the morning and explored the city. It feels so nice getting back there, as if I still know the places from childhood memories. Late afternoon, I decided to go back to Manila with a handful of fresh veggies with me.

This blurred photo reminds me of my boy scout years in high school.  We went to the ruins of Cagsawa Church and trekked Mt. Mayon.  We were too close to the peak (climbed more than 85% with clouds already in our feet) until our scout master decided to return our base.

This blurred photo reminds me of my boy scout years in high school. We went to the ruins of Cagsawa Church and trekked Mt. Mayon. We were too close to the peak (climbed more than 85% with clouds already on our feet) until our scout master decided to return to our base.

This is where I learn things that I do not learn from Kindergarten and Elementary.  And I am not talking about school.

This is where I learn things that I do not learn from Kindergarten and Elementary. And I am not talking about school.

Youth Leaders' Conference in Cagayan De Oro City.

Youth Leaders’ Conference in Cagayan De Oro City. We spent 2 nights aboard the ship from Manila to Cagayan De Oro City (and returning for another 2 nights.)

My alma mater, my second home for six years (undergraduate and graduate studies).  Except for the Thomasian Hym (that I was not able to memorize) I have lots  memories from this university.

My alma mater, my second home for six years (undergraduate and graduate studies). Except for the Thomasian Hym (that I was not able to memorize) I have lots memories from this university.

Tuguegarao has Callao cave, considered to be more popular than those in the Sagada.  The cave is indeed enchanting.

Tuguegarao has Callao cave, considered to be more popular than those in the Sagada. The cave is indeed enchanting. Though I want to visit Sagado too, soon.

I drew the alarm system diagram on this bank and supervised its installation.

I drew the alarm system diagram on this bank and supervised its installation.

I was here the middle of the year, though it is interesting the city got lots of "Christmas lights" all over.

I was here the middle of the year, though it is interesting the city got lots of “Christmas lights” all over.

My first Christmas in Saudi Arabia absent my family.

My first Christmas in Saudi Arabia and first time absent with my family.

Been to Taif twice.  The cool breeze of air is exhilarating amidst the view of arid mountains devoid of greens.

Been to Taif twice. The cool breeze of air is exhilarating amidst the view of arid mountains devoid of greens.

Camels on desert sands roaming free.  Al Kharj.

Camels on desert sands roaming free. Al Kharj.

With Philippine Ambassador, a Saudi General and a Filipino businessman, at Philippine Embassy in Riyadh.

With Philippine Ambassador, a Saudi General and a Filipino businessman, at Philippine Embassy in Riyadh.

Our organization was invited to speak at De La Salle University.  I was designated to conduct the talk.

Our organization was invited to speak at De La Salle University. I was designated to conduct the talk.

Invited to speak at Cavite State University.  Topic was -- The History and Evolution of the Philippine Flag.

Invited to speak at Cavite State University. Topic was — The History and Evolution of the Philippine Flag.

A souvenir shot at Lapu Lapu Shrine in Cebu City during one of our out-of-town recruitment campaign.  With me is my boss and client.

A souvenir shot at Lapu Lapu Shrine in Cebu City during one of our out-of-town recruitment campaign. With me is my boss and client.

A short city trip in Singapore on the way back to Saudi Arabia

A short city trip in Singapore on the way back to Saudi Arabia

One of the simple joys in the desert.  Fill up your tank and just drive and drive until you feel hunger. Just pull over, spread the carpet, set the food and eat.

One of the simple joys in the desert. Fill up your tank and just drive and drive until you feel hunger. Just pull over, spread the carpet, set the food and eat.

A visit to south of Jeddah popular for its shipwrecks and abandoned vessels.

A visit to “Shoaibah” located South of Jeddah, popular for its shipwrecks and abandoned vessels.

On the way to Los Banos Laguna.  A short break to stretch and have a photo opportunity with the Sierra Madre mountain range as back drop.

On the way to Los Banos Laguna. A short break to stretch and have a photo opportunity with the Sierra Madre mountain range as back drop.

Regina Rosarii is in Tanay Rizal, the lady towers and overlooks the southern portion of the Sierra Madre mountain range.

Regina Rosarii is in Tanay Rizal, the lady towers and overlooks the southern portion of the Sierra Madre mountain range.

Another local pilgrimage site in Lucban Quezon.  The most memorable to me however is when I ordered from a restaurant within the site all kinds (4 varieties) of their pancit.  Including the famous, pancit habhab on banana leaf -- "habhab" being translated as partaking only using mouth (no fork nor chopsticks).  And they use vinegar instead of lemon.  I want to go back to that place.

Another local pilgrimage site in Lucban Quezon. The most memorable to me however is when I ordered from a restaurant within the site all kinds (4 varieties) of their pancit. Including the famous, pancit habhab on banana leaf — “habhad” being translated as partaking only using mouth (no fork nor chopsticks). And they use vinegar instead of lemon. I want to go back to that place.

A marvel how nature was able to construct these hills (aside from the legend share by our tour guide that there once lived giants who playfully threw mud at each other that formed these hills ).

A marvel how nature was able to construct these hills (aside from the legend share by our tour guide that there once lived giants who playfully threw mud at each other that formed these hills ).

My original plan is to try set foot in Basilan, my travel buddy killed the idea.

My original plan is to try set foot in Basilan, my travel buddy killed the idea.

Saw Pope John Paul II in Manila almost a decade ago, and got also a chance to see Pope Benedict XVI at a mass in Vatican (incidentally this day, the Pope announced that he is resigning due to health reasons)

Saw Pope John Paul II in Manila almost a decade ago, and got also a chance to see Pope Benedict XVI at a mass in Vatican (incidentally today [Feb. 11], the Pope announced that he is resigning due to health reasons)

King Neptune's fountain in Rome.

King Neptune’s fountain in Rome.

Florence is a city of great sculptures, which   includes the 17 ft Statue of David by Michael Angelo.  The figure on my background (at Palazzo della Signoria) is just a replica.  The original staue is at Accademia Gallery.  Too bad photography is not allowed.

Florence is a city of great sculptures, which includes the 17 ft Statue of David by Michael Angelo. The figure on my background (at Palazzo della Signoria) is just a replica. The original staue is at Accademia Gallery. Too bad photography is not allowed.

Ahh, the magnificent sight of the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Ahh, the magnificent sight of the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

The scoop is about the Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi announcing his resignation at the Palazzo Montecitorio

The scoop is about the Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi announcing his resignation at the Palazzo Montecitorio

Watching my son play Assassin's Creed reminds me of Venice.  The waterways are still alive and theming with life, despite the ages.

Watching my son play Assassin’s Creed reminds me of Venice. The waterways are still alive and theming with life, despite the ages.

Daranak Falls, located in Tanay Rizal is virtually my neighbor.  Was able to be there just recently.  Hinulugang Taktak in Antipolo meantime is practically just at door step -- haven't been there yet.

Daranak Falls, located in Tanay Rizal is virtually my neighbor. Was able to be there just recently. Hinulugang Taktak in Antipolo meantime is practically just at my door step — haven’t been there yet.

We conquered Puerto Princesa's Underground River.

We conquered Puerto Princesa’s Underground River. A journey (paddle) boat trip inside the cave is like journey to the abyss.

Been to this Island twice.  The last one included a road trip around the Island.

Been to this Island twice. The last one included a road trip around the Island.

Trying the rickshaw in Hong Kong.

Trying the rickshaw in Hong Kong.

I am not a fan of Mickey, but what the heck.  Here I accompanied my son queue for more than 1 hour for a less than 5 minutes ride.  And after the ride, he wants to go back to the queue.

I am not a fan of Mickey, but what the heck. Here I accompanied my son queue for more than 1 hour for a less than 5 minutes ride. And after the ride, he wants to go back to the queue.

The majestic Tian Tan Buddha, elevated 240 steps on Lantau Island, HK.

The majestic Tian Tan Buddha, elevated 240 steps on Lantau Island, HK.

Not many workers can ride a bike to work.  I am fortunate that I can.

Thuwal is my current city. Not many workers can ride a bike to work. I am fortunate that I can.

Memory is the mother of all wisdom.

— AESCHYLUS, Prometheus Bound

There are other places that I wish to post, but due to the self imposed count restriction, this post needs to only have 37 places.

About swrphome

Sophie's World, Rinojo's Playground. Almost crazy. Usually sane. Occasionally busy. Always lazy.

Posted on 12 February 2013, in Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow…………….next year ba will be 38 na….

    • Hi rech. Para lang yang debut (18th birthday ng isang dalagita). Kahit gaano karami ang kaibigan ng debutante or kahit gaano karaming available roses, kailangang limitahan lamang sa 18 (i.e. 18 dance, 18 roses). Thanks for visiting my blogsite.

      Yet I am hoping I can post a hundred :)

Your Thoughts Please...

